Close this window
Buy TicketsHome
Saturday, NOVEMBER 22, 2014, 7:30 P.M.

Masterworks II

Great European Mastery

Las Vegas Philharmonic
Danail Rachev conductor

Markus Groh piano


The Smith Center
Pre-concert conversation begins promptly at 6:45 p.m.

Weber Overture to Oberon
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4
Brahms Symphony No. 1

Bulgarian conductor Danail Rachev, Music Director of the Eugene Symphony, leads the Las Vegas Philharmonic's premiere performance of Brahms' First Symphony, a work that was to reinforce the public's high opinion of the composer as successor to Beethoven. The program opens with the spirited overture from Weber's Oberon and powerful German pianist Markus Groh performs Beethoven's complex and compelling Fourth Piano Concerto.

Other Masterworks Series
Masterworks I
Saturday, September 27, 2014, 7:30pm
Introducing Maestro Cabrera

Masterworks III
Saturday, January 10, 2015, 7:30pm
Rising Star

Masterworks IV
Saturday, March 7, 2015, 7:30pm
Cabrera Conducts Mendelssohn & Schumann

Masterworks V
Saturday, April 25, 2015, 7:30pm
100 Years of Music